Ribbed Fingerless Gloves

IMG_3686 I was on vacation for all of August.  Oh glorious vacation!  It was likely the longest stretch of not-working that I will have for quite a few years, so I thought I would take full advantage of it by re-learning how to knit.  You see, I first learned to knit when I was in first grade (the joys of Waldorf school), and by the time I was in third grade I could knit on double-pointed needles in the round to make things like adorable strawberry doll hats with little black seeds (something like this).  Then I went to normal school and promptly forgot my knitting skills.  Thankfully it wasn’t all wasted: I still remembered how to knit and purl, and could sort of eek out how to cast on and off.  But I couldn’t follow a knitting pattern and I had completely forgotten how to knit on anything but two single-pointed needles.  Having learned how to knit without following a pattern herself, my mom insisted I start knitting from a pattern immediately so that I could regain my knitting skills and not be stuck struggling to follow a pattern as a very proficient knitter like she had been for most of her life.

IMG_3671

My first knitting project was a pair of fingerless gloves in a yummy cafe au lait colored cotton yarn.  They are knit using a garter rib pattern that stands out nicely with a solid color.  This is really my practice pair of gloves for fall and spring weather.  The second pair will be knit using a warmer wool blend for winter.  I used the Ribbed Mitts pattern from Knitsimple Gifts to Knit in a Weekend! without any crochet finishing.  I used worsted weight (size 4) 100% cotton yarn and four size 7 double-pointed needles.  The garter rib stitch is knit three, purl 1, repeat for the first row and knit for the second row.  The thumb hole is created by binding off some stitches (5 in this case) at the beginning of the round and casting the same number of stitches on again at the beginning of the next round.  The default sizing of 36 stitches cast on at the beginning (12 stitches per needle, three increments of the pattern knit 3 purl 1) and 6 inches until the thumb hole with a remaining two inches to cover the palm worked perfectly.  If I make some for Peter I would increase the number of cast on stitches (the circumference of the glove), increase the length over the palm, and make the thumb hole wider.

IMG_3681

If this pattern is too complicated for you, consider the following: knit a square, sew up one side to make a tube leaving a hole for the thumb, and you’re done!  It was when I told my mom that I was making another pair of these “square gloves” that she absolutely insisted that I had to use a pattern or I would never learn.  As always, she’s totally right, and I’m now smitten with knitting patterns.

IMG_3692

2 thoughts on “Ribbed Fingerless Gloves

    • Thanks! It was a perfect simple pattern to follow, once you know the basic knit and purl stitches. If you decide to learn to knit, I would highly recommend taking a class; it’s much easier to learn after watching someone do it. My mom still takes knitting classes even though she’s been knitting for years. That said, I have been able to figure out most things by watching youtube videos and I doubt I will have the time to take a dedicated knitting class for a while.

Leave a Reply

