Naples again

I know what you really wanted to see was more photos from my Neapolitan meanderings. First, let me give you an idea of my typical day: see Anna off in the morning; decide on a destination (e.g. the monastery on top of the hill); get a pastry (usually a sfogliatella) from a recommended pasticceria; walk to my destination and enjoy it; stop by a gelateria on the way home, and then go for dinner with Anna and colleagues. Not a bad life.

And now the pictures:

A hazy view of the Bay of Naples. That’s the Sorrentine Peninsula on the left (our next stop!) and the Isle of Capri on the right.
Another view of Vesuvius. I don’t recall where I took this one from, but Vesuvius dominates the skyline from just about everywhere in Naples. Apparently the second peak is a result of one of the many eruptions over the years (about once a century).
Bella Napoli. See if you can count the number of church domes. I can’t.
The central altar of the monastery on the hill. I don’t know if these monks individually had to take vows of poverty, but the order as a whole most certainly did not.
Central courtyard of the monastery on the hill. The skulls were supposedly “a lighthearted reminder to the monks of their own mortality”.
Vesuvius and the port from the monastery. It was quite a hike to get all the way up the hill, but the monastery grounds and museum were fantastic. I strongly recommend it to all travelers.
Panorama from the monastery. I can only imagine the holy thoughts that these views must have put into the heads of monks.
Our hotel room, from the monastery. The main dome is the gallery, the smaller one the church. The building immediately in front of the church has three windows/balconies on the top floor. Our room was the leftmost. (This is the maximum zoom of the camera!)
General Lee. I guess you really can’t escape the South, even in Naples.
Il funicolare. Normally I’d just hoof it up the hills, but one day I went for a ride on all the metros, trains, and funiculars that Naples had to offer. (Well, some of them, anyway.) The funicular is basically a subway/tram at a tilt; an idea that they should consider adopting in San Francisco.
Leave a Reply

