September Garden Tour

Spoiler alert!  This post may be exceedingly boring for those of you who don’t garden, or don’t care to garden.  However, I promised my parents that I would eventually post pictures of my garden once it was less embarrassing than when they saw it in early August.  After procrastinating bringing the camera out to such a dangerously dirty and wet place, I finally relented this week and can now give you a virtual tour of the place where I spent most evenings weeding, occasionally watering, and routinely massacring my plant babies.  Enjoy!

The purple flowers are from my friend Anna who wanted to take them from her house when her landlord decided to give their place to young family members of just the right age to step on them while wildly drunk. They seem very happy in my garden and provide some much-needed color.  They have nasturtiums, basil, and pepper plants for company.

Two of the most perfectly red peppers we've grown all summer, right before they were roasted and stuffed. Gosh, I sound like a terrible person!  Now that bell peppers have successfully survived the garden, it's time to grow the spicy kind!

This is the original bed of kale and bok chard. Unfortunately I over-planted (like one is urged to do on the back of the seed packet) and didn't have the heart to thin the seedlings as well as they should be thinned.   The result?  Massive amounts of greens, enough to fill two other beds with kale and bok chard transplants.  I had a similar problem with basil and have transplanted little Genovese basil plants all over the garden (such as in the lower right).

This is the bed of beets. I have lined up all the unwanted rocks from my garden around it in a useless attempt to keep the weeds from at least one more square inch of the garden. It turns out that it is indeed quite useless.  The beets are doing well though, and eventually I should have enough to make purple and candy-cane colored pickled beets.

These are the fava bean mounds.  I planted a few test fava beans from the pretty green and purple ones I saved from the fava plants Karina planted earlier this year.  This is the only bean I have succeeded in growing so far this summer.  The bush beans were a complete flop and I'm a bit worried that the pole beans I planted this week are too old as well.

This is the asparagus corner, one of my favorites in the garden.  It isn't really because of the asparagus, which I haven't cut even a single asparagus stalk from yet, but rather the juxtaposition of all the different kinds of leaves from the fava beans (left), asparagus and pretty pink flower, arugula (the clump of salad-sized leaves), green onions (bottom), and the winter squash (top right).  The pretty pink flower is also a rescue from my friend Anna's old house, and there used to two of them before one mysteriously disappeared.  My guess is that the flower-stealer is the stupid little rodent that keeps digging holes in my garden.

Mountain of broccoli rabe.  I have slowly been thinning it by eating entire plants.   The large brown dead plant sharing the mountain is cilantro, and I'm keeping it there out of laziness of not harvesting the cilantro (coriander) seeds.  Just behind the mountain is a tiny glimpse of the compost, which is just about as much as anyone would want to see.

Two tiny cucumber plants (and a misplaced lettuce with the lighter green leaves).  These babies are my only hope for homegrown cucumber pickles.  I doubt that they will actually grow cucumbers before it gets too cold, but one can hope!

The herb corner with oregano (also rescued from Anna's old house), lavender (hiding in the back), mystery flowering plant (in the middle and also from Anna), two basil plants, bonus arugula (in the front), lemon balm, and mint (right).  The bonus arugula just sprouted by itself in an area where Karina and I previously planted it.  This has made me very careful about where I plant arugula, but honestly, it's kind of a nice change to have a weed that's edible.

And finally, a better view of the three squash plants that are just going crazy by the asparagus. They are buttercup winter squash and had huge sprouts when they first came up, unlike the other squashes that have been a bit more confusing.  I planted some acorn squash in the mound directly to their right, but I'm going to have to transplant the acorn sprouts to give these guys some more room.  There are actually another two of these buttercup squash plants that I transplanted next to the compost.

To wrap up this e-tour, here are two shots of the left and right sides of the garden so you can put the previous shots in perspective.

One thought on “September Garden Tour

  1. Pingback: October Garden Tour | Black Holes for Breakfast

Leave a Reply

