Beau-Catcher Brownies

The one cookbook that I know my dad brought to my parents’ marriage is a 1950s-style cookbook with a recipe for beau-catcher brownies.  While I find the old-fashioned assumption that I need to bake sweets to make a boy like me rather quaint, I can’t say I don’t use my baking-power with astonishing frequency. Not only do I bribe women in physics to have lunch with me every Wednesday, but there’s practically nothing Peter or I won’t clean, cook, move, pick up from the store, or buy on the internet for a fresh batch of cookies. Or brownies. I’m a little embarrassed that there are no brownie recipes posted here yet, because what is better for bribery than chocolate?  There are a couple people in my office that agree, and for the occasional chocolate abstainer, I’ve included a bonus recipe for butterscotch brownies at the end.

Just to get the necessary brownie stances out there:  I like my brownies gooey (not cakey!), and I will fight you for the middle pieces (I laugh at the absurdity of edge-only pieces brownie cake pans).  While the following recipe calls for 25-30 minutes of baking time, I always set the timer for 25 minutes and pull the brownies out of the oven as soon as the middle is lightly set.  Do not forget that they will cool and harden in the pan, leaving you with overcooked uck if you’re not careful.  While the following recipe manages to combine my favorite brownie characteristics, I have been known to alter the recipe slightly to instead put in 1/2 cup flour, 3/4 cups cocoa, and only 1 egg, creating a brownie so gooey that it’s practically dangerous.  And, don’t forget, a big spoonful of nutella is a fine addition to any brownie batter, as a good friend’s boyfriend taught us all in college.

Beau-Catcher Brownies
3/4 cup flour
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 stick butter (1/2 cup)
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup chopped walnuts
1/2 cup chocolate chips
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Combine the flour, cocoa powder, salt, and baking powder in a bowl.  In another bowl, cream together the butter, sugar, eggs, and vanilla.  Combine the two bowls and stir in the chopped nuts and chocolate chips.  Pour the batter into a greased 8 1/2 by 8 1/2 inch pan and bake for 25-30 minutes until just set in the center.

If chocolate isn’t your thing (or even if it is), there are always butterscotch brownies.  I made these for my WiP ladies this week and while they were not the prettiest baked good, they were certainly delicious!  Unfortunately I didn’t take any pictures, but I have dreams of making them again, perhaps with some shredded coconut and chocolate chips scattered on top.

Butterscotch Brownies
1 1/2 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 cup butter
2 cups brown sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup chopped walnuts
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Mix the flour and baking powder and set aside.  Melt the butter in a saucepan over low heat and then add the brown sugar and bring the very thick mixture to a boil.  Take the butter-sugar mixture off the heat and allow it to cool.  Add the eggs and mix them in thoroughly.  Add the vanilla and flour mixture and finally the chopped nuts.  Pour the batter into a 9 by 9 greased baking dish and bake for 30-35 minutes, or until the center is set.  Cool the brownies in the pan and then cut into squares.

One thought on “Beau-Catcher Brownies

  1. Pingback: Another Recipe Roundup | Black Holes for Breakfast

Leave a Reply

