Potatoes with Goat Cheese and Rosemary

I think it says a lot about my mad skills in the garden that the only two herbs that aren’t dead are the massive rosemary bush (it’s taller than me!) and the mint plant.  Of course the real problem is that I’m never quite sure how to cook with either of them.  Sure, there are mojitos, of which I’m a huge fan, but apart from being drunk too much of them time, it would require a bit more organization in my liquor cabinet (a shelf) that currently houses Grand Marnier and 11 bottles of strawberry honey wine that Peter recently bottled and refuses to let me drink for another 2 months.  Cruel.  My coping mechanism is usually to add rosemary to anything and everything (chicken and potatoes) and completely forget about the mint plant.

Potatoes with Goat Cheese and Rosemary
Potatoes
Olive oil
Goat cheese
Rosemary
Salt and pepper
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Wash the potatoes and slice them thinly.  I often get impatient and the potato slices get progressively thicker, but let’s not dwell.  Line a glass baking dish with olive oil.  Layer the potato slices in the glass dish with chunks of goat cheese interspersed.  Season with salt, pepper, and rosemary as you go.  Drizzle a bit of olive oil over everything and put another drizzle of water in the bottom of the dish to add moisture to the potatoes.  Bake until the potatoes are done (just be adventurous and nibble one), 40 minutes or so depending on how diligent you are with potato slicing and how much patience you have.

I would also like to draw your attention to the blue bowls in the first photo.  They are some of my new collection of handmade pottery bowls that conveniently do not stack.  Notice how they are also not perfectly round… I’m still working on that.

Leave a Reply

