Kathy’s Raisin Scones

In the last couple of years I have been trying to collect recipes from my grandmother and great aunt who are both excellent cooks.  My great aunt’s potato salad is still my favorite and my grandmother makes the best Swedish meatballs I’ll ever eat.  But perhaps their very expertise makes it difficult to document, because they both insist that their potato salad or Swedish meatballs are so simple and that they change the recipe every time.  Well!  I look forward to the day that I can be such an expert about anything, and such comments only make me beg them to write down their secret formulas harder.  The following is a recipe from my grandmother titled “Kathy’s Scones”, although who Kathy is I may never know.  They are best eaten warm from the oven (although not hot, as I learned the hard way).

Kathy’s Scones
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
2 tablespoons sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup butter
1/2 cup raisins
3/4 cup milk
Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.  Mix together the first four ingredients and then cut in the butter until it the dough has the consistency of coarse cornmeal.  Add the raisins and then add the milk, stirring only until the dough comes together.  On a floured surface or some parchment paper, form the dough into a circle about 7 inches across and 3/4 inch high.  Cut into as many wedges as you like (the original recipe suggested 6-8, but as I was expecting company, I went for 12).  Place the scone wedges on an ungreased baking sheet and bake for 12-15 minutes or until golden brown.  If you make more than 6-8 scones, reduce the baking time a bit or use a lower temperature.

2 thoughts on “Kathy’s Raisin Scones

  1. I tend to make it without the crust pastry too (though I don’t find pie crust difficult). I did the Smitten Kitchen recipe recently but it wasn’t quite there for me. Then I make this pumpkin pie filling from the Pie and Pastry Bible which I liked SO much more. It really lets the pumpkin flavor shine but you put a layer of ground gingersnaps and pecans/walnuts under the custard to give it a bit of spice (but not enough to overwhelm the pumpkin taste).

    Great Pumpkin Pie (from the Pie and Pastry Bible by Rose Levy Beranbaum)

    1 15 oz can of pumpkin puree
    3/4 cups brown sugar, packed
    2 tsp ground ginger
    1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
    1/2 tsp salt
    2/3 cup milk
    2/3 cup heavy cream
    3 large eggs
    1/2 tsp vanilla extract

    In a small saucepan stir together the pumpkin, brown sugar, spices, and salt. Over medium heat bring the mixture to a sputtering simmer, stirring constantly. Reduce the heat to low and cook, stirring constantly, for 3-5 minutes or until thick and shiny.

    Scrape the mixture into a food processor and process for 1 minute. With the motor on add the milk and cream, processing until incorporated. Scrape the sides of the work bowl. Add the eggs, one at a time, processing just to incorporate, about 5 seconds after each addition; add the vanilla along with the last egg.

    Pour the mixture into pie shell or ramekins/what have you. Bake for 50-60 minutes at 375 F.

Leave a Reply

