Homemade Almond Milk

If I can’t own a cow, at least I can buy raw almonds at the Farmer’s Market and make my own milk.  Even though I have been drinking soy and almond milk since I was very little, I had no idea it was so easy to make your own.  Enter Fieldguided and their link to a rather beautiful video about how to make your own nut milk by My New Roots.  Since buying a nutmilk bag (just a fine-meshed bag to strain the nut milk from the nut pulp), we have not been out of almond milk in our apartment for almost two weeks.  The only hard part is remembering to start soaking the almonds 8 hours before you actually get to make the nutmilk, which I am so bad at that I painted a fridge magnet to remind me.  The following recipe is the procedure for making any kind of nut milk, but I have only experimented with almonds so far.

Homemade Almond Milk
(Makes 4 cups almond milk)
1 cup raw almonds
Water
Nutmilk bag or other contraption for straining the nutmilk from the nutpulp

There are just a few easy steps to making almond milk:
Step 1:  Soak the almonds in enough water to cover them by a few inches for 8 hours.
Step 2:  Drain the almonds and rinse them until the water runs clear.
Step 3:  Blend the soaked almonds with 4 cups of cold water in a food processor or blender for about a minute.  I only have a small food processor, so I have to do this step in batches.
Step 4:  Line a clean container in which you’d like to keep the nutmilk with a nutmilk bag.  Pour the nutmilk and nutpulp into the nutmilk bag.
Step 5:  Squeeze the nutmilk bag so that you get all the nutmilk out of the nutpulp.
Step 6:  Drink the nutmilk within 3-4 days and do something with the nutpulp, such as making almond pulp cookies (recipe below).
So what is one to do with the 1 1/4 to 1 1/2 cups of almond pulp?  Well, I’ve now had a couple batches of almond pulp to deal with and I can suggest that at least one fun thing to do with it is to make “almond meal” cookies.  I just substituted the almond pulp for almond meal/flour in gluten-free almond flour recipes.  Here is one basic combination of ingredients (adapted from a recipe on Paleoz.com):

Almond Pulp Cookies
1 1/2 cups almond pulp (or whatever you are left over with after making almond milk)
1/4 – 1/3 cups honey
1/4 cups olive oil or other less flavored oil
1 egg
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
Chocolate chips for chocolate chip cookies OR lots of spices for spice cookies
Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.  Mix all the ingredients until well-mixed.  I used lots of ground ginger, some cinnamon, cloves, and nutmeg to make ginger-spice cookies.   Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and make little mounds of cookie dough.  Bake for 10-15 minutes, until the cookies are cooked through.  These almost have the texture of muffins, and I have no problem eating them for breakfast.

6 thoughts on “Homemade Almond Milk

  1. Anna, I wish I had the motivation to be as creative as you – I usually just end up watching the whole bag of almonds gradually dissipate into oatmeal, trail mix, etc, before I have time to make almond butter, almond milk (awesome!), or better yet, almond cookies! Looking forward to seeing you tomorrow, hopefully accompanied by something devasting(ly chocolate.)

  2. Anna! I got your letter today so of course I came to check out your blog (which is fabulous!). Coincidentally I have been drinking loads of almond milk lately myself.

    To answer a question in your letter, I do have a blog (the link should show up here) which chronicles whatever I’m stitching. It suffers at this time of year though, as half the time I’m stitching presents that I don’t want my family to accidentally see.

    • I love your blog Mabith! You are so talented!!! For some reason I cannot figure out how to comment on anything yet, since I don’t have a wordpress username website… but with a little help from Peter we should be able to figure it out, and in the mean time, I especially like the piece with the dead pigeons at the bottom 🙂

  3. Pingback: Pomander: Clove-Studded Oranges (+ a simple plum crisp) | Black Holes for Breakfast

Leave a Reply

