Lemon Pancakes with Potato Flour

Tapioca starch down on those delicious cheese puffs, and only potato flour to go… on my quest to use up the gluten-free flours that will soon be stale and unfit for baking adventures.  Again the King Arthur Flour blog saved me, this time with some of the most delicious pancakes I’ve ever eaten (except my Dad’s of course, a recipe that he has memorized and made for weekend breakfasts for as long as I can remember).  These pancakes are lemony and fluffy.  I made a very tart lemon syrup to go on top of them that could only be eaten in small quantities (yes, it was that intense).  The original recipe called for potato flour and cornmeal and was thus gluten-free.  As I didn’t have cornmeal, I substituted a coarsely-ground whole wheat flour that we buy from the Farmer’s Market, and which provided a somewhat comparable texture.

Lemon Pancakes with Potato Flour
3/4 cups potato starch
1/2 cups coarse whole-wheat flour
3 tablespoons honey
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/8 teaspoon xanthan gum
2 large eggs
3 tablespoons olive oil
3/4 cups milk
1 – 2 tablespoons grated lemon rind
Combine the ingredients and let the batter sit for 10-15 minutes (this resting period is important for gluten-free baking).  Heat a skillet or griddle and cook the pancakes for 1-2 minutes per side.  I usually cook my pancakes in butter because it tastes just so good, but I’m sure canola oil would work.  Enjoy with syrup, powdered sugar, honey, or fruit and maybe whipped cream!

The lemon syrup I made was essentially the juice of one lemon, a tablespoon or more honey, dash of salt, and a teaspoon of corn starch.  I cooked the syrup until it was thickened, adding a bit of more water when too much of the syrup had boiled off.  It was very tart, but somehow perfect on these pancakes.

And now, for other things I’ve been enjoying recently.  First, oven-roasted broccoli spears and thinly sliced carrots, drizzled in honey to make them caramelized:

Second, attempting to make homemade nut butter.  I started with some hazelnuts, but they never got very creamy.  I added cocoa powder, vanilla extract, and honey to make a sort of homemade nutella, but this would have worked much better with oilier, or perhaps just fresher, nuts.  Almond “nutella” coming soon!

Finally, after eating too many chocolate chips, I thought I would melt them and mix the melted chocolate with a little milk and some nuts to make my own chocolate nut clusters.  These are delicious!  They’re also dangerous, not only because then I eat them all, but also because dealing with the hot bowl of chocolate has added a total of two scars to my not otherwise unblemished fingers.  My favorite so far is a mix of walnuts and almonds made with Ghirardelli semi-sweet chocolate chips and a bit of homemade almond milk.

Leave a Reply

