A Distant Relation to Cornbread: Whole Wheat Savory Cake

Peter tells me I should put a disclaimer on this recipe, because I totally made it up one evening when we were out of cornmeal and I wanted bread to dip in soup–cornbread being the natural go-to as it comes together in about half an hour (including baking time).  While it may seem strange to make a “cake” out of olive oil, coarsely-ground whole wheat flour, and not much honey, I find the combination of thick sandwich bread sponginess and cornbread cake crumb quite delectable, and perfect for eating with and dipping in soup.  Starting from the cornbread recipe from a box of Alber’s cornbread, I have tried all kinds of tweaks, but this one I will make again.  The coarsely-ground whole wheat flour almost has the consistency of cornmeal, which I like.  And I’ve added enough honey to make it as sweet as I wish I could remember to make cornbread.

Whole Wheat Savory Cake
1 1/2 cups coarsely-ground whole wheat flour
1/2 cup rolled oats
1/4 – 1/3 cups honey
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup milk
1/3 cup olive oil (or other vegetable oil)
2 eggs
Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.  Oil a baking pan (I use a glass pie dish).  Mix the dry ingredients (flour, oats, baking powder, and salt) and wet ingredients (honey, milk, olive oil, and eggs) separately.  Combine and mix as little as possible.  Put in the baking pan and plop in the oven immediately.  Bake for 20-25 minutes, until the top is golden-brown and it passes the knife test (a sharp knife inserted in the middle comes out clean).

There have been other adventures in the kitchen.  I have been craving stuffing for some reason.  Well, not just for some reason.  It’s nearly Thanksgiving time, and of all the November holiday foods, stuffing is my favorite.  I like it with big pieces of holey bread, onion, celery, carrots, apples, raisins, and perhaps chicken broth?  In a fit of impatience I decided to cook stuffing around a chicken instead of inside it or next to it.  The part of the stuffing not soaked in chicken broth was perfect, but next time I won’t add any water to the bottom of the chicken and accidentally drench the bread cubes.  Amazing how even mushy bread tastes amazing when it is stuffing (Peter heartily disagrees, as he’s less of a fan of both stuffing and soggy bread).

One thought on “A Distant Relation to Cornbread: Whole Wheat Savory Cake

  1. Pingback: Summer-Stuffed Peppers | Black Holes for Breakfast

Leave a Reply

