Peanut Butter Cookies, the Simple Version

In the realm of cookies, it’s hard to compete with the ones someone else makes for you.  But those have one major disadvantage: they do not contain peanut butter.  I like to think of myself as being an any kind of cookie opportunist, but that doesn’t mean I can’t seriously prefer anything that has peanut butter (peanut butter pie for example… I know that’s not a cookie, but it is one of my favorite kinds of pie).  The standard peanut butter cookie recipe that calls for a stick of butter and one cup peanut butter is delicious when someone else makes it and I don’t have to think about how, err, rich they are, but I’ve recently found an underground of butterless and flourless peanut butter cookie recipes that tastes wonderfully peanut-buttery.  Please don’t remind me that these flourless peanut butter cookies are probably actually richer, since the flour filler is gone…

Flourless and Butterless Peanut Butter Cookies
1 cup peanut butter
1/2 to 1 cup sugar (I find 1/2 cup perfect, but I don’t like these too sweet)
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Salt if using unsalted peanut butter
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Mix the ingredients and shape into little walnut-sized balls.  Place these cookie dough balls on a baking sheet and give them the traditional cross-hatch with a fork.  Bake for 10 minutes or so, until almost solid (they solidify while cooling).

3 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Cookies, the Simple Version

  1. Anna, I’ve always wanted to make these but wanted approval from a trusted source before I wasted my PB on them! Now I need to make them myself ASAP!

  2. Pingback: Decadent Peanut Butter Cookies | Black Holes for Breakfast

Leave a Reply

