Peter’s Chocolate Chip Cookies (Cowboy Cookies)

This is the only recipe Peter has memorized, and I’m not surprised, because I think he would make this almost everyday in a world where people didn’t get tummy aches from eating too much cookie dough.  I’m not sure if this is my favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe only because it’s the most convenient (“Peter, make me cookies!!!”), or because the ground oatmeal makes perfect cookie dough for eating raw.  I’ve even heard of certain people making this cookie dough without eggs to eat, errrrr, as is.  Among the long list of things I’d like to try one day is making my own chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream, because then it would finally have enough cookie dough!  Enough gushing, you should go out and make this at once!

Peter’s Chocolate Chip Cookies
1 stick butter
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla (or more if you’re Peter)
1 1/4 cups rolled oatmeal partially ground in a food processor/blender
1 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon each of baking powder and baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt (or a couple dashes… I like salty baked goods)
6 ounces of chocolate chips (1/2 a regular-size bag)
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Cream the butter and sugar and then add the egg and vanilla extract and mix until smooth.  Mix the dry ingredients in another bowl: flour, ground oats, baking powder and soda, and salt.  Mix the butter mixture with the dry ingredients and add the chocolate chips.  Roll the cookie dough into little balls (slightly larger than the diameter of a quarter) and place on a greased non-stick cookie sheet for baking.  Bake the cookies for about 10 minutes, until they are barely set and starting to get golden brown.  Let the cookies sit for a few minutes before moving them to a cooling rack, as they will solidify considerably as they cool.

In case you’re wondering where cowboys come into this, Peter and I realized that the same chocolate chip cookie recipe for “Cowboy Cookies” is in Maida Heatter’s Book of Great Chocolate Desserts.  This is the book that brought me the easiest and tastiest chocolate sauce recipe, useful as icing and chocolate fondue alike.

 

6 thoughts on “Peter’s Chocolate Chip Cookies (Cowboy Cookies)

  1. I remember an early quantum homework session where Peter showed up with these. It made me think that QM would be okay. Then he stopped bringing them. QM sucked after that. Thanks for ruining quantum mechanics, Peter.

    Hi Anna!

  2. Have you made Maida Heatter’s Chocolate Pots de Creme, on page 200 in my 2006 edition? HOLY. MOTHER. OF. PEARL.

    Also, 86 proof chocolate cake, page 83

    …and Countess Toulouse-Lautrec’s French chocolate cake on page 45.

    ps-those cookies look awesome

    • My goodness, I am so glad that you of all people own that book! I will get my act together and make all of those as soon as I get back from Charleston, because, well, do I need a reason???

  3. Pingback: Peanut Butter Cookies, the Simple Version | Black Holes for Breakfast

  4. Pingback: Russian Tea Cakes for Women in Physics | Black Holes for Breakfast

Leave a Reply

