Sautéed Fresh Corn with Red Onions and Green Peppers

Today was farmer’s market day, and unlike Thursdays (which are also farmer’s market days), Sundays always afford more time to play with the day’s most exciting purchases: in this case the first fresh corn of the season.  I love fresh corn in the summer time, as it is almost synonymous with summer vacation because it is available everywhere near my parents’ house, fresh picked and ready to be devoured.  One summer, in pre-dinner hunger, I started to eat my ear of corn raw, as my sister and I were most likely racing to see who could shuck an ear of corn first, and it was so good and sweet that I never really went back.  I still love cooked corn on the cob, and corn roasted on a grill or in a fire can be exceptional, but what I love the most is raw corn in a bean and vegetable salad, with little cherry tomatoes, a good vinaigrette, and some fresh basil and chives.  We had just such a salad for lunch after the farmer’s market, and it disappeared so quickly (and I was so hungry) that there wasn’t time for pictures.  I wanted to do something slightly different for dinner, so I sautéed the corn briefly with red onions and green peppers.  The result was marvelous: sweet from the corn and onions and slightly bitter from the green peppers.  Our dinner party crew once made something like this last summer, but with red peppers and shrimp, which was also very good.


Sautéed Fresh Corn with Red Onions and Green Peppers
(serves 2)
2 ears fresh corn, shucked
2 green peppers, chopped into small slices
1/2 red onion, chopped into small slices
Olive oil for sautéing
Salt and pepper
Cut the corn kernels from the ears of corn; this is most easily done with a sharp knife and a large mixing bowl (the kernels can go flying).  Heat the olive oil in a frying pan and briefly sauté the onions for about a minute and then add the green peppers.  After another minute add the corn, with plenty of salt and pepper.  Cook for just a couple minutes more so that the vegetables still look fresh and are not completely soft.  Stir the mixture every 10-20 seconds or so to more evenly cook the corn.  Usually there are cooked and uncooked corn kernels at the end, which is totally fine.

Before we went to the farmer’s market this morning, I made scrambled eggs with steamed potatoes and green beans.  The potatoes were slightly sweet, which was strange, but the eggs turned out well regardless.  I often forget about potatoes when I put vegetables in scrambled eggs, but they are really quite good, a combination of breakfast potatoes and eggs all in one.

We have so much fruit in the house now, it would be overwhelming if it weren’t so delicious.  The peaches won’t be ripe for another couple days, but until then we have strawberries.  Unfortunately, the strawberries were so ripe that we had to eat a majority of them tonight.  Normally I would have made strawberry shortcake, my favorite strawberry dessert, but since I was already in the process of baking the last of our fresh figs from last week in honey and rum, I thought something less sweet was in order: goat’s milk yogurt and crushed strawberries.  It was a good night.

One thought on “Sautéed Fresh Corn with Red Onions and Green Peppers

  1. Yes, we ate all of the food in those pictures. Well, except for the sunflowers. They probably wouldn’t have been as delicious as any of the others. I think the figs in particular deserve more of an exploration. Mmmm… figs.

Leave a Reply

