Peach Cornmeal Muffins

Perhaps you do not know this about me, but my absolute favorite baked-good to make is muffins.  I blame this on the recipe entitled “Muffin Madness” that I copied down from some cookbook of my mom’s, the beauty of this recipe being that it was really three recipes in one: blueberry lemon, zucchini, and banana.  Maybe at one point I made all three kinds, but what I loved about it was that it made me realize that I could put anything in, and I did.  I made muffins with carrots, zucchini, squash, pumpkin, bananas, apples, berries, stone fruit, lemons, walnuts, pecans, spices, cocoa, and chocolate chips, although not all at once.  The muffins may not have been that pretty, were usually quite moist from all the vegetables, and speckled with numerous things I just couldn’t leave out.  Monica came up with names for all of them, mealy muffins being my favorite.  And now Peter calls them Kitchen Sink muffins, because that’s the only thing I leave out.  The recipe below is an extreme variation of a recipe given to me by my Great Aunt Jeanne.  It produces muffins that are closer to moist cupcakes, made with two eggs instead of the original one, but they aren’t nearly as sweet, relying on the fresh peaches for some of the sugar.  Perhaps I should just admit that I forgot to eat dinner and had muffins instead, right before we ran out to see fireworks.

Peach Cornmeal Muffins
(Makes a little over 12 muffins)
1 1/2 cups white whole wheat flour
1/2 cups fine cornmeal
1/2 cups granulated sugar or brown sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt (or a little more)
1/3 cups grapeseed oil (or canola)
2 eggs
2 medium yellow summer squash, finely grated
2 yellow peaches, diced
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.  Grease a muffin tin plus one or two small muffin-sized baking dishes with grapeseed oil.  Mix the first five ingredients in one bowl and the other ingredients in another.  Combine the two bowls and mix until just combined.  Pour muffin batter into muffin tin, filling to just below the rim.  Put any excess batter into the extra muffin-sized baking dishes (I have little heart-shaped ones that work perfectly).  Bake for 20-25 minutes or until golden brown and a knife inserted in the center of a muffin comes out clean.

I should be the first person to support substituting every non-essential ingredient in the above recipe for something else, but there’s something so happy about triple-yellow muffins (yellow peaches, cornmeal, and yellow summer squash).  Perhaps not my next muffin batch, but my next epic muffin adventure: double rainbow muffins.  Yes, that’s 2 red, 2 orange, 2 yellow, 2 green, 2 blue, and 2 purple ingredients in one amazing muffin.  Let me know if you have any suggestions!

One thought on “Peach Cornmeal Muffins

  1. I call them the Kitchen Sink Muffins out of love, I promise. I have yet to experience an ingredient that has done wrong by these muffins.

Leave a Reply

